Home > Executive Committee

Executive Committee

President - Ms. Mahima Datla

Mahima Datla directly oversees strategic operations within Biological E organization and leads the work related to public policy. She has been working with BE for the past 17 years and has served in various capacities across a diverse range of functions. Apart from Biological E, Mahima has served on the steering committee of DCVMN as well as GAVI Board, and she is currently a member of CII National Biotech committees and a GHIT fund board member.

Vice President - Dr. Alexander Precioso

Alexander R Precioso is Clinical Director of Instituto Butantan, São Paulo with expertise in Clinical Trials, Epidemiology, Pediatrics and vaccine research. He has been responsible for coordinating the integration between the Project Management Office, the Technology Transfer Office, and The Innovation Technology Unit at Butantan institute since 2015. Dr. Alexander R. Precioso is member of the Scientific and Technical Council of Butantan Institute, and a member of The Advisory Permanent Committee on Immunization of Secretariat of Health of Sao Paulo State-Brazil.

Treasurer - Mr. Fernando Lobos

Engineer and MBA professional with 20-years’ experience in management, focused on new business development, engineering, start-up and operations of pharmaceutical companies. Last 11 years working in vaccine companies.

Member - Mr. Patrick Tippoo

Patrick Tippoo heads the Product Development and Business Development at The Biovac Institute, a private public partnership aimed at re-establishing vaccine development and manufacturing capacity in South Africa. He has been with Biovac since its inception in 2003. Biovac is the only vaccine manufacturer in Southern Africa. Patrick’s responsibilities include strategic alliances and local & international partnering opportunities with respect to product development and inbound and outbound technology transfer projects.

Member - Mr. Steven Gao

Steven Gao is the General Manager of Xiamen INNOVAX Biotech Co., Ltd.. He devoted himself to driving the alliance of Chinese vaccine manufacturers with vaccine manufacturers from other developing countries to enhance the international vaccine community. In October 2011, Mr. Gao and his team successfully held the 12th DCVMN Annual General Meeting in Xiamen and, in April 2012, he contributed to the preparatory work for the 1st DCVMN International Workshop held in Beijing. Before joining Innovax, Mr. Gao worked as a Director and a Vice President for sales and marketing in the biopharma industry. During his ten years, Mr. Gao held various key positions in quality control and sales and marketing, and was eventually promoted to President of the company.

Member - Ms. Lingjiang Yang

Ms. Lingjiang Yang is Manager of International Business and Cooperation of Chengdu Institute of Biological Products Co., Ltd. (CDIBP), an affiliate of CNBG, the China’s largest state-owned biological company and the first WHO-prequalified Chinese vaccine manufacturer. She is responsible for all international cooperation development and management, as well as taking care the international marketing. Her experience as the project coordinator of the WHO prequalification project of live Japanese encephalitis vaccine has given her insights of global vaccine industry.

Member - Mr. Sai D. Prasad

Sai Prasad has 25 years of progressive experience in Management, biotechnology, good manufacturing practice, operations, quality management. He holds a degree in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin (USA) and a M.B.A in Finance and Marketing from the University of Iowa (USA). Previously he was the Director of Molecular Otolaryngology Research Laboratories at the University of Iowa. At Bharat he is responsible for product development and commercialization of vaccines and biologics. In his previous role as the Vice President for Business Development and Corporate Strategy, he handled operational and strategic activities ranging from product development, innovation and corporate expansion. In his current role, he oversees all aspects of quality management including quality assurance, quality control, and quality management systems.

Senior Advisor - Dr. Akira Homma (non-voting)

Dr. Akira Homma is a Medical-Veterinary graduate of Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Universidade Federal Niterói, Brazil. As Director of Bio-Manguinhos - 20 years in two terms – Dr. Homma was responsible to the activities related to the technology development of immunebiologicals and manufacturing activities at industrial scale, which was initiated in 1976 with only one product and 26 employees, and he left the direction with a portfolio of 17 products and 1.200 employees. He also organized the Professional Master Course Degree at Bio-Manguinhos.

GAVI Board Representative - Mr. Adar C. Poonawalla (non-voting)

CEO & Executive Director of Serum Institute of India Ltd., Pune - SIIL. Mr. Poonawalla has played a major role in the acquisition of Bilthoven Biologicals, a Netherlands based Vaccine manufacturer, with a vision to make available IPV vaccine at affordable price. Mr. Adar Poonawalla is also Executive Director of Poonawalla Investments & Industries Pvt. Ltd. and Poonawalla Shares & Securities Pvt. Ltd. He holds a degree in Management from University of Westminster, London.

GAVI Board Alternate - Mr. Juliman Fuad (non-voting)

Fuad Juliman is currently the Production Director at PT BioFarma in Indonesia. Prior to this position, he was a Senior Manager for Procurement in the same company. He has been working in the pharmaceutical industry for nearly 25 years. He graduated in the Department of Pharmacy from the Institute of Technology and holds a Master in Operation Management, both obtained in Bandung, Indonesia.

Executive Secretary - Dr. Sonia R Pagliusi (non-voting)

Dr. Pagliusi has degrees in Biomedical Sciences, Biochemistry, and public health management, and has over 20 years of professional experience in the healthcare sector, with a balanced track record of working in both the private and public sectors, while deeply committed to improving health in emerging countries. She has worked with leading pharmaceutical multinational and biotechnology industries, and has served at WHO in Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals department and engaged with major philanthropic foundations for access to vaccines.

Legal Adviser Ad hoc - Me. Olivier Dunant (non-voting)

Partner with Meyerlustenberger Lachenal (since 2012). Previous to that he was manager, Partner and head of the legal services department of one of Geneva’s large consulting companies (2001-2012). Before that he was associate with internationally oriented business law firms in Zurich and Geneva (1995-2001). He holds degrees from New York University School of Law, LL.M. (1995) and from University of Geneva, lic. iur. (1990).

Special Adviser - Dr. Suresh Jadhav (non-voting)

Dr. Suresh Jadhav, Executive Director of Serum Institute of India Ltd., is associated with DCVMN since 2000 and was its President from 2003 to 2008. He was member on GAVI Board & PPC. He is currently member on EVI, FastVac and HIP, besides on other Committees. He has participated in several collaborative studies for making revisions in international reference standards for WHO, NIBSC, EVI, NVI etc. and has published more than 95 technical papers in the national & international journals.